2010 Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Drama and Comedy Series

In case you didn’t know (because I sure as heck didn’t until I saw something the latest Entertainment Weekly), the Primetime Emmy Awards air on Sunday, August 29 on NBC. In the glow of some great nominations and not too many ridiculous slights (I’m resigned to the fact that Sons of Anarchy won’t get its due), the whole thing kind of sneaked up on us, didn’t it? Thankfully, I have enough time to spew out a bunch of predictions before the actual ceremony airs. I’ll be discussing one category a day all week, covering who I think will win and who I think should win.

Here we are at the end of our glorious journey. The Emmys are tomorrow! Are you excited? Can you feel the buzz in the air? Yeah…

Outstanding Drama Series

Nominees:

  • True Blood
  • Lost
  • Breaking Bad
  • Mad Men
  • The Good Wife
  • Dexter

What won’t happen: The biggest award of the night might seem like an interesting race on paper, but I’m not so sure it is. I don’t have any major problems with these nominees (I really liked season two of True Blood), but it’s perhaps only a three-series race. Though I liked True Blood S2, there is hopefully no way in hell it wins this award. I can’t imagine the Emmy voters would be stupid enough to stoop low enough to vote for the HBO series. Moreover, despite my love for Lost, the sixth season wasn’t strong enough to warrant a victory over some of these other series. It’s possible the voters could give it one final send off, but it’s less likely with the quality issues.

What could happen: I know I said it was a three-series race, but there’s a major groundswell of support for season four of Dexter and especially Michael C. Hall, so it is kinda-sorta possible that the Showtime series is in this thing. Additionally, there is a lot of buzz for The Good Wife as well, as if the voters want to re-crown broadcast television or something. I think the CBS series has a chance, but the nomination might be just enough of a coronation in 2010. Into the future, The Good Wife will be a major force to be reckoned with.

What should happen: Breaking Bad is the best series on television right now, by a larger margin than even I would have thought before its third season began. But then the AMC unspooled one of the best, most amazingly consistent full seasons I have ever seen in my short time on this earth. I think it’s time that the deserving king be crowned.

What will happen: Breaking Bad is right there, but the Emmy voters love its AMC brother Mad Men. It appeals to the older and younger voters alike, and despite a weak-for-its-standards third season, the powerful episodes are damn good and sure-fire victory-bait. There are chances something else like Breaking Bad or The Good Wife slips away with the win, but I can’t see it. Unfortunately.

Outstanding Comedy Series

Nominees:

  • Curb Your Enthusiasm
  • Glee
  • 30 Rock
  • Modern Family
  • Nurse Jackie
  • The Office

What won’t happen: Just like it’s drama counterpart, the Comedy Series race will surely come down to three series. I could be wishful thinking, but I cannot imagine, in any way whatsoever, that Nurse Jackie wins this thing. It’s disappointing that the mediocre Showtime series was even nominated over a slew of other, more worthy series (Parks and Recreation, Community, Party Down, etc.) so I’m going to refuse to believe that it has a chance of winning. Also in the loser’s circle? The Office. The NBC comedy is coming over a major down year, is lacking buzz and doesn’t deserve to be nominated either. Let’s just move on.

What could happen: If the Seinfeld thing had a major effect on the voter’s minds that it could last over a year, then Curb Your Enthusiasm could win. 30 Rock is the big, dominating elephant in the room, and despite the Glee-Modern Family face-off that’s being built up in the press (and by me), there isn’t a whole lot the NBC comedy did to lose.

What should happen: However, this award is coming down to Modern Family and Glee. In that battle, I have to go with the ABC comedy, for so many reasons, but perhaps the most important one being that, you know, it’s actually funny. Glee has a number of great and emotional moments, but it doesn’t really deserve to be in this category and thus definitely doesn’t deserve to win.

What will happen: I’m getting more and more terrified that Glee will actually win this thing, but I’m sticking to my guns. Modern Family takes this one home.

Leave a Reply

